Franklin Mint FCU email?

I got an email from this thing called Franklin Mint FCU, i don’t even reckon I ever used it, I’m not ancient enough for a credit card, I don’t have a bank account, I don’t reckon I ever signed up for it, + It said safeguarding your privacy, i quickly changed my password, iserious need to know what’s happening here.

I'm eager to hear your comments...
Related Products:

  • Share/Bookmark

Related posts:

  1. Franklin County area students have mixed feelings on credit card age limit
  2. What are my options for acquiring a business credit card?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Franklin Mint FCU email?

  1. OC1999 says:

    You have been “Phished”. This is where you get an e-mail that says they need some password or other personal information. They then use this to try and steal your identity.

    No valid bank will question for information in an e-mail. Your best bet is to not click on any links, trash it and don’t worry about it.

    I don’t usually like Wiki but this seemed to have some excellent examples and explanations.

  2. echo says:

    OC1999 is right

    I checked the Franklin Mint FCU website and they have an alert about that email.
    The following is a part of what they say about it —

    FMFCU Security Center | Alerts
    June 12, 2007 – Today, we’ve received yet another notification of a phishing attempt. This email is lengthy and tells the victim that due to recent account takeovers and unathorized listings, a new verification procedure has been requested. THIS IS COMPLETELY FALSE – PLEASE DELETE THE EMAIL.You may safely view the pdf of the email here so you can identify it.

    All of the fraudulent emails we’ve seen over the last few weeks attempt to extract sensitive personal information from our members, including member number, debit card number, expiration date, security code and PIN#. Be on the lookout for these emails and delete them. Many of these emails contain links to fraudulent sites that have copied our look. PLEASE LOOK AT THE ADDRESS IN YOUR BROWSER! IF IT IS NOT http://WWW.FMFCU.ORG, CLOSE YOUR BROWSER AND DELETE THE EMAIL. FMFCU will never question you for personal account information via e-mail. Read below for more information on current and past alerts

    __________

    As for you not remembering ever doing business with the credit union, you might order your credit reports to see if there is any loan activity listed on them from that CU.
    You also might contact the CU and question why you are getting the phishing email when you do not have an account with them as far as you know.

    It could be several things.
    You may have opened or tried to open an account at one time and don’t remember.
    Someone may have used your info to open an account for their own purposes.
    Someone in your family may have opened an account for “your” benefit, savings, CD’s, etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>